Online dating

Call me old fashioned but I think my best friend is crazy.
She’s one of my best friend, we met in highschool. But after college she came home to Bali, her hometown, she’s Balinese. And I think she’s going to kill me if she find out I’m writing this for the whole world to see. LOL!

Anyway, she called 2 days ago and told me she’s going to Jakarta. First she told me that it’s just a holiday, but  last night I found out that the purpose of her coming is to meet a guy she knew from online dating. So, she flew 1.5 hour from Bali to Jakarta, alone (well, not quite alone because she’ll meet me here), to meet her blind date today. She said that it’s not ‘that blind’ after all, since they already shared each other picture on Whatsapp messenger. Doh, it could’ve been photoshop-ed, or it could’ve been someone else picture.

It’s not that I against online dating, I know lots of people met their couple online. Online dating is one thing, but online dating with a guy from United State is another thing. United state is on the other continent, not like flying 1.5 hour to Jakarta. It could’ve been more than 10 hours flight. And this guy don’t work here, he only come to Jakarta for 3 days business and back to America. What if my friend meet him tonight and this guy is nice and she fell for him? I think that is going to be a very big problem.

But I don’t know. Maybe I just worried too much that my dear friend have this too many hopes and dreams that she’ll hurt her ass if she’s falling on the ground. If not her ass, then her heart will.

Have you any experience with this online dating?

12 thoughts on “Online dating

  1. eva626 says:

    you shuda referred her to me….lol. online dating seems kinda strange..you never know. well some people do like surprises. ! maybe the pic swap helped but in real life it is a new experience.

    a united states fellow huh…sounds shady. He must be rich since he is able to travel all the way there. maybe rich and old, since he has the time and money…or maybe just rich. if he isnt old that is. keep posting this!!!

    and no i dont ‘date’ at all. lol.

    • Mila Said says:

      But it’s high risk, meeting with stranger you just knew online and decide to chase the guy to other city. The guy could’ve been an asshole and she wasted time and money.
      But, well, she’s old enough to decide :p

  2. I’ve never done online dating and don’t plan to do, but I know people who’ve found somebody that way. (Not from another continent, though, actually not from too far away.)

    I think you get to learn people in a very different way on the internet. Particularly in the context of online dating where everybody wants to “sell” him- or herself and across in the optimal way. Therefore, I think it’s good that she meets him in the real life. So many impressions are missing when you just communicate on the internet!

    But wow, such a distance is a lot! If you’ve been knowing each other for some time and are sure the other person means a lot to you, I think you can manage that (for example, if one partner is going to another country for some time, for job reasons), but if you’ve just met the other day? Not convinced that would be a good idea. You don’t even know the other person actually!

  3. Lisa at fLVE says:

    I don’t know what to say except just be there for your friend when she needs you. Who knows what’s going on…and frankly, if she just started chatting with him and he flew there..it seems odd. He could just be on a business trip but then again…

  4. Hoping that it goes okay for them. I guess we’ll have to wait and see.

  5. B says:

    Just because someone travels over seas and is American, doesn’t make him rich. Since it’s for 3 days, my bet is on a business trip. I hope your friend is careful!

  6. Mila Said says:

    Have already told her that thousands of time, I almost feel like I’m her mother 😀

  7. Purely.. Kay says:

    I have a friend that tried online dating and she ended up marrying him. But that is not to say that all men are like this. You really do have to be careful w hen you’re meeting people off the internet. And you’re a good friend, you’re just looking out for your girlfriend 🙂

Leave a Reply

